The four seasons in Arabic

The post provides a guide to Arabic vocabulary for the four seasons. The words for autumn, winter, spring, and summer are respectively ‘kharīf’, ‘Shitā’, ‘rabī’, and ‘sayf’. The ‘fasl’ prefix is used to denote ‘season of’ in translations. Direct translating of the seasons’ names can lead to misinterpretation. For example, ‘Shitā’ may be confused with ‘matar’ meaning ‘rain’.

Continue Reading →
1 2 3 4 5 7